Solderless Unibody Switch

I started playing around with this idea for a solderless switch, and also decided to try a unibody approach just for fun. It turned out better than I expected. Would appreciate your thoughts. Pictures, notes and STL as follows:

STL Print settings:
Solderless UniBody V1.0.stl (49.4 KB)

• Material = PLA (PETG should work too, haven’t tested yet though)
  • Layer height = 0.20 mm
  • Shells = 3
  • Infill = 100%
  • Orientation = Edge side down (this is important to ensure layers are aligned with the curve)

Assembly Instructions: Solderless Switch Assembly Instructions.pdf (599.1 KB)

Comments:
The main purpose of this design exercise was to test to see if crimps would be able to make a reliable switch connection without the use of a Crimp Tool, or heat gun (I.e no specialized tooling)

Here are my comments:

Crimping approach

• Used the same switch and mono cable as the Light Touch & Raindrop

• The crimps used were about $0.16 each.

• https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B01LNMO7DY/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

• Using the Plier nose on the crimping tool allowed for a narrow crush length and I believe this helped. Will need to test with other common tools (pliers, etc.)

• I suspect standard version crimps (without marine heat shrink) would work as well. The price difference is negligible. The plastic crimp covers may prove to be in the way a bit though, so would need to account for that in the base design if using this same switch.

• I found assembling each of the crimps onto the wire first much easier to manage compared to starting with them on the switch.

• It will be important to ensure the crimps are supported and contained within the body of the switch to ensure the longest service life possible.

• Bonus, the crimps provide a very solid element to use a tie strap with, so also gives a pertty solid, and clean looking wire retention method.

Unibody switch design approach