Cello Brace and Bow for Individual with Hypermobile Joints

I received the following request for a device and was wondering if anyone has worked on a similar project.

Description of the hurdle: I used to love playing the cello, but as I started playing more advanced pieces for longer periods of time, my hypermobile joints started to cause moderate to severe pain. I haven’t been able to enjoy playing for the last 5 years and I really want to be able to play in an orchestra in college. I’ve tried commercial wrist and finger braces/splints, but they limit my motion too much or vibrate against the strings making it either more painful or unrealistic to use. It would be life changing to have a wrist/hand/finger brace for my left hand that allowed full regular motion of my joints while preventing any hyperextension that makes playing painful as well as an adaptive bow grip for my right hand. Playing the cello is my passion and I’d love to be able to do so again without experiencing pain.

Device use frequency? Almost daily! Without pain, my ideal practice sessions would be 5-6 days a week.

1 Like

Hi
As a hyper mobile person with EDS myself, I can definitely relate! I will add this request to our community newsletter going out tomorrow.

1 Like

Thanks for the help @MMC_Zee. Are there any particularly good information sources about hyper mobile joints and EDS?

Hi Brent, I’m an Occupational Therapist and OT prof at the University of Ottawa. I’d love to help you with this. Please feel free to contact me

1 Like

Thank you @MMC_Zee and @cguptill for the help. When faced with a challenge our team was not sure how to solve, the MMC forum seemed like an obvious place to turn. Thanks to the kindness of @cguptill the cellist who requested assistance will have the best possible outcome.

1 Like

Please make sure to document / share the solution so that others can benefit too!

2 Likes