Bluetooth wheelchair joystick to gamecontroller

Hi everybody,

New on the forum, I’m a french occupationnal therapist and maker at heart. I’m working for an healthcarehome and we have a makerspace integrated into our structure : Makergo

Involved in gaming accessibility, I’m looking to design a device that gives wheelchair users the ability to play video games directly with their wheelchair control joystick.

The device should be capable of recovering the bluetooth mouse signal from a power wheelchair controller and convert it into a signal that can be use by the adaptive xbox controller.

It could help many powerwheelchair user to play video games with more independance

Several cool Open devices exist, but they require the help of a third person to plug the wire.
The use of the bluetooth connexion could be a nice option

Some project may be a good brick to begin this work :
atmakers and usersFreedomwing , we have already assemblied one and it works well.
MMC virtual joystick, Lipsyncgaming
magic joystick from my human kit, work in progress.

I’ve told with Bill Binko from AT makers and users, according to him, using a Adafruit nrf52840 devices with circuit pyton could help.

I don’t have enough programming skills to do it, and I hope that some of you will want to help with this design.

For my part, I can 3d print, buy parts, make electronic assemblies in our makerspace and realize tests with users. We have several candidates here who are really interested to test it

2 Likes

Hi @julienoudin, That’s a great idea and I actually attempted that using different hardware ( arduino + USB Host module + Bluetooth Dongle ) and was able to connect a wireless mouse and wireless keyboard send data over to another device which can act as HID Joystick. Unfortunately , I don’t have access to a bluetooth mouse wheelchair module to test it out. I will need to modify the format depending on output of bluetooth mouse wheelchair module and adjust the range.